29 Comments
author

By the way this is my second time using Getaway. This is NOT an ad for them but I wish it was. If you like *some* aspects of camping but still can't voluntarily sign up for a night of uncomfortable sleep, or hate the idea of all the packing, I very wholeheartedly recommend it. Part of me wonders if there is something wrong with paying money to take all the work out of camping but a bigger part of me just says "shut up and enjoy."

https://getaway.house/

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

hard same! I'm a Tentrr fan for the same reasons (I've only done within our state parks, because camping on someone's private land is a little too weird to me. Also showers/bathrooms are important.)

Expand full comment

I have a work friend who used one of them in Michigan and when you posted your photo I immediately thought of them! Looks so cute! I hope the bed is comfy. My forest service Army-issued pee-proof mattress was hot and hard. And not in a good way.

Expand full comment
author

the bed was VERY comfy and nice. It kind gave me Hampton Inn vibes (that's a compliment)

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

Last weekend my husband went hunting, and my son went to grandma's house. It was delightful... just me and the dog. I took a long bath, dyed my hair, watched A LOT of movies, cleaned (and no one messed it back up), slept as late as I wanted, had a long nap on Sunday. It was so rejuvenating. I feel so much more like a person. I hope everyone can get some time to themselves this weekend.

Expand full comment
author

Something about just being with the dog is so great. Mine is sitting next to me right now. Sometimes you just want to snuggle cuddle wuddle with someone who won't say anything to you afterwards.

Expand full comment

Or toot on you.

Expand full comment

You must not have a dog. ;-)

Expand full comment

Oh I go, but their out pipe tends to not be so gassy.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I’m attempting to be on a biannual fancy solo staycation schedule. My husband is invited for one night if it is a two-night event for me. Getaway does sound wonderful, but I cannot give up a fancy hotel breakfast. If I’m getting outta here, I’m getting coffee brought to me.

Expand full comment
author

These are sensible conditions. And I am definitely a little concerned about how my late-sleeping husband and his early-rising wife will do on Monday with the coffee situation but I'll figure it out. Maybe just get into cocaine for the weekend.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I’m not able to go to a friends wedding due to lack of PTO (thanks RSV and other childhood illnesses) but my husbands aunt still wants to come in town for a night to see the kids and give us a night away. We’re just getting a hotel in town but I’m so excited!

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

this will be great!!!!

Expand full comment
author

that is fantastic!! I hope you sleep well.

Expand full comment

I recently did 2 days at a bare bones forest service cabin out in the middle of nowhere Montana beside a river with husband and dogs. No cell service, but we did have electricity. Not being on my screens for 2 days, except to take pictures of us all napping multiple times was the best thing for this giant ball of stress that my chiropractor is still working on after 3 visits the week before. That being said. My husband declining ear plugs on night 1 when we had a mouse scrabbling in the walls and waking up grumpy as hell and "wanting to go home immediately" until I convinced him to just hold out till naptime was also so maddening that I wanted to leave him in the mountains immediately and drive to the nearest spa. Also, don't forget to hydrate.

Expand full comment
author

oh god I'm sorry you still kinda had a crabby baby with you.

The Wifi thing is harder than it seems at first. I'm so used to associating relaxing with watching my laptop in bed. But books are still pretty good, who knew.

Expand full comment

I stupidly brought a Kindle book I'm reading for work on management (UNGH but yay?) and a book of poems about the Trail of Tears. Also an InStyle magazine. Guess which one I read cover to cover?

Expand full comment
author

MANAGEMENT

Expand full comment

if by management you mean an intimate interview with Jennifer Aniston, then yes.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I am very excited to go next month to a nice hotel in denver for three days without husband or child but also for two days of strategic planning for a non-profit board that I am on (and it is mostly this nice because we were going to lose some money on a covid cancelled or use the would be loss for some staff and board retreats). This isn’t the perfect escape but at least it is a break.

But I am hypothetically planning a big post vaccine trip to ireland and england and scotland where we blow three years of vacay budget staying at manor houses and nice hotels and going on long walks through the heath and visiting castle ruins and having lots of tea. And reading novels by a fire and everything is great! And husband is coming around to some elements of this not being hypothetical!!

Expand full comment
author

I want to do the Manor Houses thing too someday!! It's how I know I am officially middle aged. One day you wake up and you're like I wanna look at some old houses that were too expensive to maintain.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I was approximately 13 on that day. Also a relatively reasonably affordable way to do this is the Best Western on the outskirts of Cardiff in Wales. It is an old manor house. But also a best western. (Not the best western in the city, that one is like a regular modern hotel). We had tea in a garden. It felt like staying in an agatha christie novel minus the murdering.

Expand full comment

Ooh I am very intrigued.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

The other day I was zoning out on a work call and paging through a GOOP list of health and wellness resorts where you stay at a zillion-star hotel but also work out and magically acquire the Glow of Health so yeah I’m ready to get out of here!

That’s not going to happen but I am going to visit my snowbird mom in AZ this winter where at least there is sunshine and a hot tub. Maybe a sheet mask if things get wild.

Expand full comment
author

Yes!! Take in that arid air. I don't know how far your mom is from this place but my husband, a Phoenician, has taken me here and it's a delightful spot for a meal

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g31187-d331922-Reviews-El_Encanto_Mexican_Patio_Cafe-Cave_Creek_Arizona.html

Expand full comment

This place looks great!

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

FYI this was my favorite of the fancy health spas if you want to plan an imaginary trip with me: https://www.cal-a-vie.com/

Expand full comment
author

AIEEEEEE I WANT TO BE THERE NOW

Expand full comment

I am DOING this next week. Going to a hotel for FOUR nights - 2 with my husband and 2 blissfully ALONE. I had a breakdown last year right around this time and my husband arranged for me to go to a hotel in Montauk for a few nights alone and I made it into a little retreat. The hotel didn't have tv and I brought a HUGE stack of books and sat on the edge of the water and ate outdoors at restaurants and it was truly restorative. I am hoping for the same magical qualities this year, although we're going to a different hotel (this one has a spa, which I'm feeling more up for this year!)

Expand full comment