26 Comments
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

Oh you just fall down on the job on ONE thing? Overachiever. :)

Expand full comment

I am NOT texting in group chats unless urgent. I can't keep up with 45 unread messages & gifs.

I AM loving this thread & the idea that we cannot do something & the world will go on!

Brilliant Claire!

~Mo Callahan Rimlinger

Expand full comment

Also not exercising because in the summer I would so much rather be gardening with that brief window of time each day that I can allot to self-care. (Also gardening is kinda exercise and why be an overachiever! I’ll have all winter to do cardio. Or not.)

Expand full comment

Also, as an extrovert with a million acquaintances I have finally given up on the idea that I'm going to be a good friend to all of them. I made a list of my 20 favorite people in the world and they're my VIPs for birthday wishes and checking-in texts. It's sad to relegate everyone else to a "b-list" but there are only so many hours in the day... *note - I'm not avoiding these folks, just declining the job of staying in touch*

Expand full comment

I realized that over the last chaotic year I fell down on connecting with my partner. Our relationship generally just works, but we realized a few weeks ago we both had big ideas and work things we just had kept to ourselves - our convos have been mainly coordination and co-parenting. We cut out of work early yesterday while the kids were still at day camp to have an actual conversation and it was glorious.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I am not doing laundry. I got my kids to run everything through the wash yesterday but now I need to fold it all and I'm passionately ignoring it.

Expand full comment

I am not cooking. I am buying excessive amounts of fruit at the grocery store and eating it all day and feeding my kid hot dogs every damn night for dinner. I am also not paying much attention to the mail. Or my email.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I'm deferring a college class and also exercise is wayyyyy down the list these days. Or the intense exercise I used to do is replaced with "I will escape with this audiobook for 15 minutes while I wander up and down our street"

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

I am not paying any attention to social media. even though technically I'm supposed to be doing it for my business/practice/professional development.

Expand full comment
founding

Meal planning. Which is horrifically self-defeating because at 6:30 every night I look at an unfed 3 year old and think “crap, he had pizza yesterday” and then I feel bad both physically (from lack of vegetables in my diet) and mentally (from over feeding the child pizza).

Expand full comment

I think I'm taking a different approach - dialing down my GAF by 5-10% across the board; maybe it would be wiser to cut out one thing instead...

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2021Liked by Claire Zulkey

Not doing normal levels of cleaning, which is fair to middling at best. Too hot and humid, working at home so dealing with work mess as well as home mess. Just not that important right now.

Expand full comment

One of my clients calls it "Curating Your Life," which I think is a much more chic way of saying dropping a ball or two: https://www.gailgoldenconsulting.com/time-management-book-curating-your-life/

I am also not cleaning. Or improving. I am embracing stasis.

Expand full comment

I'm not really cooking well or cleaning deeply. There are a lot of hot dogs and carrot sticks. I'm sweeping not scrubbing. Walking to errands is my exercise, instead of like, you know, "exercise."

Expand full comment

I'm not doing any of my non-exercise personal hobbies, which is actually kind of shitty, I'm realizing.

Expand full comment